The Hundred Years of Democratic Government and System of Education in Danao City

Sat, April 17, 2004  1:31 am

Researched by:
Narciso “Sisoy” Almerez
Danao City, Cebu

20040417023148498_1.jpgThe American soldiers came to Danao on August, 1900 with Gen. Lawton as the commanding officer.

They had an encounter with the Danawanon soldiers, but because of their superior weapons the soldiers and the civilians including their families fled to hinterlands to spare their life. Danawanons felt a reign of terror.

The leader of the resistance movement in Danao, Capitan Candelario M. Cuizon fled to Hagnaya in his farm. The American officer ordered to demolish the big residential house of Tan Dayong in the corner of now C.M. Enriquez and B. D. Durano streets.

A wedding in old Danao

His big sugar plantation, his big Camalig Bato or bodega of muscuvado sugar in Taboc and several sugar mills were set on fire by the American soldiers. Because of the destruction of his properties and business he came down to the Poblacion and pledged allegiance to the American government.
Capitan Victorino C. Buot, the Presidente Popular of Danao at that time was captured and put to jail in Fort San Pedro, Cebu City. He was forced to swear allegiance to the American government.

Few days after he was released and appointed as the first President Municipal of Danao on June 10, 1901, according to the Municipal Code of Danao Number 82. This Municipal Code was the establishment of the Democratic municipal government of Danao under the American regime.

Sr Agustin B. Tito, the former Juez de Paz de Danao (under the Spanish Era) was municipal vice-president. Sr Felix G. Batucan, the former maestro of Spanish class (during the Spanish Era) was the municipal treasurer.

Sr Antonio D. Lao was auxiliary municipal treasurer Sr Benito G. Enriquez, the Vice President of the Revolutionary soldiers in Danao was the Municipal Judge.

Sr Tomas G. Lao was chief of Police. Sr Jose Ma. Escalante, Spaniard (the former secretary of Capitan Vito during Spanish era) and his brother in-law was municipal secretary. The municipal councilors were Sr Alejandro B. Derecho, Sr Severo B. Duterte, Sr Catalino G. Buot, Sr Roman B. Gonzales, Sr Manuel Ma. C. Roble, Sr Valentes Mata (Capitan Municipal), Sr Fabian D. Casas (cabeza), Sr Macario Castro (cabeza).

Danawanons who hid in the hinterlands came down to the Poblacion and once again lived in Danao peacefully. The Danao folks were happy and life returned to normal.

On August, 1901, the Thomasites arrived aboard USS Thomas. The old teachers who served during the Spanish era were recruited to teach. They were trained in English by the Thomasites at night and during the daytime they taught English lessons.

The training lasted several months. Those who were trained were the prominent teachers during the last years of Spanish era. A few names were mentioned. They were Sr Felix A. Alvarez, Sr Amando G. Osmena, Sr Aquilino A. Tito, Sr, Alfonso Lao, Srta. Romana A. Alvarez, Sra. Leonarda A. Alvarez, Srta. Anunciacion C. Manipis, Srta. Maria Pasaol, Srta. Tomasa D. Casas, Srta. Canuta Almerez and other names who were no longer remembered. The first principal was an American educator Mr Vimien.

Children of school age were forced and obliged to attend classes. Those who hid and did not attend classes were caught and were sent to the classrooms. By the encouragement of Mr. Vimien, the enrollment increased. The rooms of the old school building built during the Spanish era in the year 1863 (now the City Central School) were not enough for the growing enrollment. The Old Cuartel de Civiles in the street now Bonifacio Street was used as classrooms. Classes were held in this tabique building.

The first graduate of the fourth grade class were made to teach in the barrios. This was the humble beginning of the democratic education in Danao.


1. The American Occupation in Cebu – by Jose Quisumbing
2. Diary of former Municipal President Don Benito G. Enriquez
3. Diary of Former Juez de Paz, Sr Antonio D. Lao
4. Interview of old folks
Miss Julia Derecho
Mrs. Felicidad Ypil
Mrs. Beatriz Ralota Rodriguez y Rivera
Mr. Jose Andres G. Derecho
Mr. Eleuterio Enriquez
Mr. Andres A. Silvedo
Mrs. Sofronia A. Tecala
Mr. Pio Roble


Got something to say?

You must be logged in to post a comment.